Homemade Mayonnaise

In one of my cooking class (yes I take some cooking classes to kill time), I was taught to make mayonnaise by myself. It was the BEST mayonnaise I ever had (well, for me at least :D).

It was made from mustard, egg yolk, salt, lemon juice, worcestershire sauce and salad oil. They are easy ingredients to get, and not that expensive too, compare to those canned mayonnaise which is sold in supermarket. The mayonnaise goes well with any kind of salad. I used it for making canape, mini sandwich and fruit salad.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 egg yolk

1 tbsp mustard

a pinch of salt

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp worcestershire sauce

100 ml salad oil

Directions:

1. Put the egg yolks in the bowl, and insert lemon juice, worcestershire sauce and mustard. Stir

2. Pour salad oil gradually, after each insertion, stir it, don’t let it break apart.

3. Add salt as necessary.

And… it’s done! The resulting color will be yellow, but not as yellow as mustard.

Creations of mayonnaise

Creations of mayonnaise, canape (left) and fruit salad (right)

I was able to have one jar of mayonnaise just by making two portions of this recipe. I hope this recipe is useful for you 🙂 Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

